What is the South African Social Security Agency (SASSA)?

The South African Social Security Agency (SASSA) is a welfare agency in South Africa. It was started in 2005 under the jurisdiction of the Department of Social Development (DSD). The primary purpose of this agency was to alleviate poverty with the help of social grant payments.

Its primary functions include managing, distributing, and paying social grants to eligible citizens, such as the SRD R350 grant. Learn about SASSA in detail and check if your SASSA status is approved for this month.

What is SASSA?

The South African Social Security Agency (SASSA) provides much-needed financial support for many South Africans. Established in 2005, SASSA was created by the government of South Africa with a mandate to offer social security assistance, thereby aiming to alleviate poverty and reduce corruption in the country. This decision was pivotal to ensuring that vulnerable populations receive the support they need to improve their quality of life.

SASSA administers and disburses eight different types of social grants, tailored to meet the diverse needs of various groups within the population. These grants include provisions for the disabled, the elderly, foster parents, and unemployed citizens. Each grant type is designed to address specific hardships and provide financial relief where needed.

Types of SASSA Social Grants

There are 8 types of SASSA social grants in 2024. All these grants help people fight poverty. Let’s look at the types of SASSA grants and what they offer to the grant beneficiaries.

1- Social Relief of Distress (SRD) R350 Grant

SASSA SRD R350 grant is the most famous and disbursed grant in 2024. More than 27 million South Africans are getting this grant from SASSA. This grant is introduced for unemployed citizens. The government is providing R370 grant money to the beneficiaries.

2- Older Persons Grant

Older Persons grant is a grant for those who are older than 60 years and can not work due to the elderly. SASSA is taking care of all the citizens who are old and weak and can not work to earn money.

3- Disability Grant

The Disability Grant offers essential financial assistance to individuals who are unable to work due to physical or mental disabilities. It helps recipients cover basic living expenses and medical costs associated with their condition.

4- Child Support Grant:

This grant supports parents and guardians in covering the essential costs of raising children, ensuring that young ones have access to basic necessities. It plays a paramount function in promoting the welfare and development of children in low-income families.

5- Foster Child Grant

Foster parents receive financial aid through this grant to help them care for children placed in their custody by the court. It assists with covering the costs of food, clothing, and education for foster children.

6- Care Dependency Grant

Designed for parents and caregivers of children with severe disabilities, this grant helps cover the costs of special care and medical treatment. It ensures that children with high care needs receive the support they require.

7- Grant-in-Aid

This grant provides additional financial assistance to recipients of the Old Age, Disability, or War Veterans Grant who require regular care from another person. It helps cover the extra costs associated with obtaining personal care.

8- War Veterans Grant

Aimed at former soldiers who served in the Second World War or the Korean War, this grant offers financial support to help them with their daily living expenses. It honors their service and provides a safety net in their later years.


So SASSA has eight types of grants to provide financial support to vulnerable citizens. These grants are offering different grant amounts to cater to the needs of the beneficiaries. If you are a person who is facing poverty and unemployment, you can apply for the SASSA grants today and get financial support.

Updated: 9 June 2024 — 4:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *